Ferdinand Rebay: Sonatas for Violin and Guitar & Sonata for Viola and Guitar

Price     15,00 €
Guitarist     Pedro Mateo
Composer     Ferdinand Rebay
Type     Guitar and violin
Violin     Jose Manuel Álvarez


Ferdinand Rebay: Sonatas for Violin and Guitar & Sonata for Viola and Guitar


Guitar: Pedro Mateo González

Viola:  Joaquín Riquelme

Violin: José Manuel Álvarez


This amazing release presents three first recordings, offering the opportunity to hear one of the most exciting rediscoveries in guitar music: the Austrian composer Ferdinand Rebay (1880-1953). Rebay’s style is highly sophisticated, indebted to a tradition that goes back to Schubert, Brahms and Wagner, and he stands out for having established his own unique style, melding folk music and the Austro-German compositional tradition to create works of great lyricism and organic unity, like the three sonatas included here, which establish refined dialogues in which the guitar shrugs off its usual role as mere accompanist and shares the limelight on equal terms with the other instrument.


Sonata in E minor for Violin and guitar

Allegro ma non troppo 

Variationen über ein kärntner Volkslied 


Rondo (Finale) 


Sonata in C minor for Violin and guitar

Mässiges Marschtempo           

Variationen über: "Und der Hans schleicht umher"         


Ein fröhliches "Perpetuum mobile" in Weber's Manier   


Sonata in D minor for Viola and guitar          

Sehr mässig bewegt    

Sehr ruhig und zart